Monday, March 29, 2010

What Exactly Was Michelle Wie Saying?


I'll be honest -- I love Michelle Wie. I love how she has handled all the ridicule earlier in her career (sometimes even from me). I love how she has decided to do other things, including a rather entertaining blog and Twitter account. I love that she dated one of the Lopez twins.

That is why it pains me to question Michelle, who seems like a sweetheart from what I have seen. (when I caddied for Erica Blasberg at the 2009 LPGA Championship, I walked by Michelle at one point and told her congrats for her win in Mexico and her smiling response looked like I'd just saved her puppy from getting hit by a Hummer. It was almost like I was doing her a favor. Genuine chick.)

But, the argument on Sunday that she lost balance at the Kia Classic, grounding her club in a hazard and costing her two shots (and $100,000), seems a bit odd. Here, watch the video.

I have to admit ... balance never seems to be the issue. It looks like Michelle hit the shot, was looking to see exactly what happened and then just placed the wedge on the ground.

I'd chalk this up to a "rule in golf that has nothing to do with the outcome of the shot," but isn't that always the case with stuff like this? The grounding your club in a hazard rule came about so that people couldn't test the conditions of a certain shot. Here, Michelle obviously had already hit the shot, was just placing the club down and in no way was checking to see how the ground would play. But, as you've read a billion times, rules are rules, and the balancing thing never seems to play out.

I hate it happened to Michelle, but just admitting it occurred and moving on seems like a better play than saying you lost your balance.

6 comments:

Dexter(QuoteGuy) said...

I agree with you. It was clear that the officials had no intentions of changing their minds. Take it on the chin and move on. I'm a fan of Michelle's but this might set her back a notch in the eyes of the media. Just when everyone was finally starting to warm up to her after getting to see the real Michelle Wie at the Solheim Cup.

Lee said...

i watched the live coverage as the rules official had a little chit chat with michelle. She was complaining that its 'not fair' and kept repeating it. As if she was trying to cheat. She is certainly a ditz and maybe a cheater. I'm not sure your on the right track with the genuine puppy dog act, its more like a genuine acting job. She is good for the game but has gotten a little too big for her britches. I have heard about her relatives doing stuff before and during tournaments that is lets say, questionable.

Lee said...

Shane: it is possible that she was testing the ground to get a feel for the turf because her ball remained in the hazard after the first swipe.

Shane B. said...

Lee, I thought about that, but it wouldn't have mattered. Her ball was still underwater. Checking the turf isn't going to help her with that shot.

Lee said...

Shane: sorry for the confusion. What i meant was that after she hit the ball out of the water, it landed on dry land but remained in the hazard. She then grounded the club, before playing the next shot out of the hazard. Although she claimed to have been off balance, maybe she was testing the turf for the next shot and just playing dumb. Sneaky

Anonymous said...

blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah ....MICHELLE WON AGAIN.... bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah bla blah again....................................................................................................................................................................................