Friday, May 14, 2010

You've Got to be F-ing Kidding Me


As I expressed earlier on Friday, Jerry Rice basically stole a spot from a golfer that, you know, might actually have a shot at not finishing dead last. Rice, who used to be a pretty good football player, shot an opening round 92, and followed that up with an 82 (which is still the third worst score of the week), but is now disqualifying himself.

Why? Because his goddamn caddie used a range finder at one point. A RANGE FINDER!!!! dkjfdkfjdkfjadkgkjg

Football Hall of Famer Jerry Rice has been disqualified from the Nationwide Tour event Friday because his caddie used a scope to check yardages.

Rice called the error a rookie mistake and apologized to BMW Charity Pro-Am officials. That means Rice won't take part in Saturday's third round, the last one before the field is cut for Sunday's finale.


A rookie mistake? A ROOKIE mistake?! Not knowing about a player's through-line is a rookie mistake. Or having your caddied tend the flag when you're putting from the fringe? That's rookie. Using something that has always been illegal ever since golf was invented, and will continue to be illegal on the Nationwide and PGA Tour isn't a rookie mistake. It is absolutely ignorant, disrespectful and flat out idiotic.

That would be like the Dallas Cowboys asking me to catch a few balls in a game against the New York Giants, and right when I got the ball, I stabbed the cornerback in the leg with an ice pick. "Oh wait, you can't do that?! Ice pick stabbing is illegal? My bad, just didn't know the rules!"

At least Rice said he'd never play in another Nationwide Tour event again. If he does, maybe he could see if they'd let him use a cart, or maybe just count his front nine score. What? He's a rookie!

4 comments:

John said...

I don't know what kind of football YOU'RE playing where you can't stab people with icepicks.

dean said...

So, I'm glad to see Jerry say he's stepping out on his own. While the publicity is good for the tour, he is obviously taking up a spot someone could use. I had no problem with him having two attempts at making a cut. But next time, he qualifies like everyone else.

Can you put some blame on the tour for not evaluating his game before giving him an exemption?

Kevin said...

You can have your caddie tend the flag any time you want, so obviously that wouldn't be a rookie mistake. Jerry brought publicity to a tour starving for it during the event near his "home" city. I think it is crazy that he got an invite to this event, but in a field of 168 I'm not going to cry for guys that didn't get in. This event goes WAAAAY down the priority list to fill the field and we all know that unrestricted sponsors invites are just that. Sad thing is that his 92 generated many more articles than Justin Hicks' win.

Does anyone know what happened to his amateur partner? Obviously Jerry shooting a billion left the am partner with no chance to make the 3 day cut......but did one of the pros from the club play the third round with the guy who may have paid a bunch of money to get in the event? I really hope that Jerry and his caddie didn't use the range finder as a way of throwing in the towel to leave that guy holding the bag.

Anonymous said...

It's awesome to go to see this web page and reading the views of all colleagues concerning this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting experience.

Feel free to visit my weblog :: Louis Vuitton Handbags