Friday, January 21, 2011
Apparently This Will Send You Home
You've probably heard by now that Padraig Harrington was disqualified on Friday at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship after posting a first round 65 that left him just a shot back of the leader. Harrington, who has been going through some swing changes lately, finally got it all in place, but was called out by a television viewer, the second time something like this has happened in just three weeks of golf in 2011.
The video above, courtesy of Geoff Shackelford, shows Harrington moving the ball. As he removes the coin, he kind of, sort of touches the ball and it moves a little, a human error by all accounts but still something you can't do according to the rules of golf. And he was disqualified. Because he didn't know he did that. And there goes a great round for Paddy.
I ranted about it over at Devil Ball, but it really is insane that this is still a rule. Change it, people! Nobody should be getting disqualified because of this!