Saturday, November 19, 2011
Ryo Ishikawa Pulled a Camilo at Presidents Cup
No, he didn't start busting out of his shirt, but Ryo Ishikawa did knock down a divot as his ball was rolling back towards him.
I filmed the above video off him breaking the rule right after he did it, and nothing has happened yet, but I'm sure something will. Remember, Camilo Villegas was disqualified earlier this season for that exact same infraction.
The exact rule is 23-1, and it reads like this:
"When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed. Note: If the ball lies in a hazard, the player must not touch or move any loose impediment lying in or touching the same hazard - see Rule 13-4c. Penalty for Breach of Rule: Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes."
In match play, it's just a loss of hole instead of a DQ, but it would be a big swing in a match heading the Internationals' way.
And that was squashed quick ... via the PGA Tour Twitter feed - "FYI: In match play, opponents must make a rules claim prior to beginning the next hole. Moot point after ball goes into play on next hole."