Saturday, November 19, 2011

Ryo Ishikawa Pulled a Camilo at Presidents Cup


No, he didn't start busting out of his shirt, but Ryo Ishikawa did knock down a divot as his ball was rolling back towards him.

I filmed the above video off him breaking the rule right after he did it, and nothing has happened yet, but I'm sure something will. Remember, Camilo Villegas was disqualified earlier this season for that exact same infraction.

The exact rule is 23-1, and it reads like this:

"When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed. Note: If the ball lies in a hazard, the player must not touch or move any loose impediment lying in or touching the same hazard - see Rule 13-4c. Penalty for Breach of Rule: Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes."

In match play, it's just a loss of hole instead of a DQ, but it would be a big swing in a match heading the Internationals' way.

And that was squashed quick ... via the PGA Tour Twitter feed - "FYI: In match play, opponents must make a rules claim prior to beginning the next hole. Moot point after ball goes into play on next hole."


Bad Andy said...

Thank you. I saw the same thing. How can the announcers not notice this right off? I even knew it was wrong when I saw Camilo do it live in Hawaii ! I kept waiting for the announcers to say something, show the replay or something last night. C'mon Johhny, don't you know EVERYTHING ?

Jim said...

I thought you hated arm chair rules experts?

John Davis said...

If the vehicle was bought on credit you may be able to claim against the credit company EU Neuwagen instead of the dealer. This can be useful where the dealer has gone out of business or has no money to compensate you.

Audrianna Andrew said...

Good jockeys will do well on good horses, but not on broken-down nags. Both Berkshire's textile business and Hochschild Kohn had able and honest people running them. The same Interim Management Provider employed in a business with good economic characteristics would have achieved fine records. But they were never going to make any progress while running in quicksand. I've said many times that when a management with a reputation for brilliance tackles a business with a reputation for bad economics, it is the reputation of the business that remains intact.